Parents and teens should work together to develop good driving habits right from the start. By knowing and following Illinois driving laws at each of the three stages, new drivers can ensure a seamless transition to full driving privileges once they have some experience behind the wheel and reach the age of 18. Here are the most important things to know about each of the three phases.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]
Phase 1: Driver’s Permit – Age 15
The first step to obtaining a driver’s permit for a new teen driver at age 15 is to obtain written parental consent. Next, the new driver will need to work with their local driving schools to enroll in an approved drivers education course. Here you will work with an instructor to learn the rules of the road, and you will then be required to pass both a written and a vision test before you obtain your first-phase driver’s permit.
During the first 9 months of your driving privileges, you will be required to complete a minimum of at least 50 hours, including at least 10 hours at night, with the in-car supervision of a parent, driving instructor or other licensed adult at least 21 years of age. Restrictions that apply to phase-one Driver’s Permit drivers include limits on when you can drive; you’ll find a legal driving restriction between the hours of 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Monday through Thursday, and 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. on Fridays and Saturdays. During this time, you are not allowed to drive.
You’ll also need to avoid breaking any traffic laws like moving violations or cell phone use, because a traffic conviction will result in a 9-month waiting period before you will be able to enter the second phase of your driver’s license. If you do have a violation during phase one, you will need to work with your local driving schools to attend a driving safety course before you can move on to phase two.
Phase 2: Initial Licensing – Age 16 to 17
Before taking the behind-the-wheel driving test to obtain your phase-two initial license, you’ll need a parent or guardian to certify that you have completed at least 50 hours of driving. You’ll also need written consent from a parent or guardian, via a notarized document or in person at the DMV, in order to take the driving test.
During phase two, you will be limited to one passenger – other than most types of relatives – under the age of 20. Night-driving curfew laws also still apply. You will also need to complete additional driver’s safety training with one of your local licensed driving schools, and to avoid any traffic convictions including those for cell phone use or texting while driving.
Phase 3: Full Licensing – Age 18 to 20
Once you reach age 18 and have completed the initial licensing phase, your driving privilege will be instated in full in accordance with Illinois law as you enter the full licensing phase. There are still a few minor restrictions, such as a ban on all cell phone use including with hands-free devices until you reach age 19.
Drivers aged 18 to 20 who failed to complete a drivers education course during high school will also be required to complete a six-hour course at a licensed driving school before obtaining their full and unrestricted license.
Of course, you’ll still need to follow all traffic safety laws, as two convictions within a 24-month period will result in the suspension of your license.
Top Driver driving school is fully licensed by the state of Illinois to provide classroom and behind-the-wheel drivers education courses to help you through the phases of earning your full and unrestricted license. Click the link to check out our course information and locations, and we hope to hear from you soon![/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]