Why choose Top Driver Driving School’s online course for your Teen Driver Education?
- 100% Online Driver Education
- BMV approved class
- Fun and interactive curriculum to help students retain important concepts
- Learn at your own pace on your own schedule
- Videos, case examples, practice quizzes at end of modules
- Certificate of Completion issued electronically (Sent on the email in the account)
- Available at a special limited price of $48!
PLEASE NOTE: This class meets the requirement for classroom only.
How to get an Ohio driver’s license
1: TAKE DRIVER EDUCATION
When the student turns 15 years and 5 months old, they can start driver education. The class consists of 24 hours of classroom or online instruction and at least eight hours of behind-the-wheel with one of our state-of-the-certified instructors. Please note that the student must complete the 24 hours of driver education and have their Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) before beginning the required eight hours of behind-the-wheel training.
2: GET TIPIC (PERMIT) FROM THE BMV
When the student turns 15 years and 6 months old, they are eligible for their Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC). This card is needed to complete the behind-the-wheel training required by the state. The following is required to obtain a TIPIC:
• Proof of identity, date of birth, Social Security Number, Ohio residency and U.S. citizenship/legal presence
• Payment for the $23.50 permit fee
• Parent or guardian signature
• A passed knowledge test and vision screening
Visit Ohio BMV for information on TIPIC restrictions
3: BEHIND-THE-WHEEL TRAINING
The student has 180 days to complete the course with us, which includes the classroom or online course, the state minimum of eight behind-the-wheel lessons and passing a knowledge test and vision exam. The state requires at least eight hours of driving with an instructor; however, we offer packages with more than eight hours of behind-the-wheel driving in case the student needs more practice. Once these requirements are fulfilled, a certificate of completion will be sent by mail.
4: PRACTICE DRIVING
Once the student receives this certificate, they will need to practice behind the wheel for an additional 50 hours with a parent or guardian, with 10 of those hours being at night. The student will need to get a 50 Hour Affidavit signed and notarized by their parent or guardian in order to get their license. This can be done at the BMV when the student takes their road test or the form can be found at bmv5791.pdf (ohio.gov). Unfortunately, behind-the-wheel drives with AllStar don’t count as part of the 50 hours of supervised driving.
5: TAKE THE DRIVING AND SKILLS TEST
When the student turns 16 years old, has had their certificate of completion for at least six months and has completed the 50 Hour Affidavit, they are ready to schedule their road test! The road test is split into a driving portion and a maneuverability (skills) portion. Make sure to bring the following to the BMV:
• Certificate of completion of driver education
• 50 Hour Affidavit (however, this can be obtained at the BMV)
• A parent or guardian to sign for the license
• Payment for the license fee ($25.75 for age 16; $24.50 for age 17)
6: GET PROBATIONARY LICENSE
Once the student passes the driving test, they will receive their probationary license. Visit Ohio BMV for information on probationary license restrictions. When the student turns 18, they will qualify for their full, unrestricted driver’s license!
Approved by the Ohio Department of Public Safety.